2. Wae Kong
This is the “extenal” side of Nae Kong and takes form with more than 4,000 codified techniques of offensive and defensive combat. In general martial arts are oriented on soft and circular principles or linear and hard ones. The Hwa Rang Do® combines both these elements to create a combat system adaptable and natural. The phase of instruction includes:
- All forms of strokes and blocks by hands (trapping and grabbing as well as blocking techniques and deflection of the shots using the hands, wrists, forearms, elbows, arms and shoulders);
- 365 individual kicks;
- throws and falls from any position and onto any surface;
- human structure and  combative applications (to use body’s weak points to effectively control the opponent, regardless of their size);
- joint manipulation and/or bone breaking;
- finger pressure point applications;
- containment, control, and transport techniques;
- ground fighting and joint keys;
- grappling applications;
- offensive choking/breaking techniques;
- high-level fighting techniques against multiple opponents.

The applications of these combat techniques are taught in a controlled manner, in order to minimize the possible damage. The practitioner, from training constant of such techniques, get a good physical shape and develops a sense of self-defense. The techniques of Hwa Rang Do®, for their relative abundance and for the fact that they are a means of combat and also an artistic expression, require a large concentration during the practice and a remarkable ability to learn. These features can still be trained and improved over time by anyone with the necessary patience and perseverance. An important fact is that the Hwa Rang Do® fighting pattern is designed for a “thin” person to face a bigger opponent. So this art fits the practitioner and can be learned in different ways, at all ages.
3. Moo Gi Kong
Involves the offensive and defensive use of the over 108 traditional weapons found within 20 categories of weapons. The learning of these armed combat systems allows the practitioner to employ the majority of common objects as weapons. The use of traditional weapons, also strengthens the body structure and improves the ability of motor coordination.
4. Shin Kong
Refers to the study, development and control of the human mind in order to attain one’s full potential and mental capabilities. The techniques taught are designed to increase the level of awareness, concentration and ability to focus ideas.

The Art involves many more aspects than just a set of fighting techniques. Below are listed the characteristic philosophical aspects of the Hwa Rang Do®, to make clear the spirit of this Art.
Character development is the most important goal for the practitioner of Hwa Rang Do®: The rules and principles, of which this art is the bearer, help to develop consolidated and strong the character. These principles are contained in Hwa Rang Do® Meng Sae which compose five rules of the ancient Hwarang code:

Hwarang Oh Kae

1) Sa Gun E Choong – “Loyalty to one’s king and country”
2) Sa Chin E Hyo – “Loyalty to one’s parents and teachers”
3) Kyo Woo E Shin – “Trust and brotherhood among friends”
4) Imejon Mutwae – “Courage never to retreat in the face of the enemy”
5) Salseang Yootaek – “Justice never take a life without a cause”

and the code of ethics of the Founder Dr. Joo Bang Lee, who is normally synthesized in the following nine principles.

Hwa Rang Do® Kyohoon

1) In – Humanity
2) Uei – Justice
3) Yae – Courtesy
4) Ji – Wisdom
5) Shin – Trust
6) Sun – Goodness
7) Duk – Virtue
8) Choong – Loyalty
9) Yong – Courage

The meaning of Tae Soo Do® is “the way of the big hand” o “the way of the warrior spirit”. The Tae Soo Do® was created by Dr. Lee as an introductory system of Hwa Rang Do®.
This is necessary because the program of studies of the Hwa Rang Do® is very complex and requires considerable preparation of the bases, that a beginner in martial arts in general does not possess (e.g. children or those who have never practiced Martial Arts or sports of any kind).

The program of Tae Soo Do® is designed to strengthen the body and develop the attitude to the Martial Arts practitioners inexperienced. Of course, during the practice of Tae Soo Do® we gradually approaches to the principles and mechanisms of the philosophy of Hwa Rang Do®.

A comprehensive Martial Art

MU-SOOL – Martial skill aspects
The combat skills of Hwa Rang Do® are divided into four categories:

1. Nae Kong

It involves the development, control and management of your internal energy (Ki) through passive methods (Um) and active ones (Yang). The development of Ki is taught through special breathing techniques and meditation, in conjunction with specific physical exercises. The practitioner learns to develop, exploit and apply human energy according to his own conscious will. Initially it is studied in order to obtain a good state of health and to be able to get the best of combative chances, meanwhile at a more advanced level the power of Ki can be extended from one person to another, both to heal and to fight.

There are five types of Ki that can be developed during the practice of Hwa Rang Do®:
Kyung Ki – “making the body light”
Jung Ki– “make the body heavy”
Chyel Ki– “making the body hard as steel”
Ma Ki– “making the body numb”
Shin Ki– “increasing mental concentration and awareness”.

Philosophy and Ethics


The Tae Soo Do® program consists of:
- Circular and linear Kicks;
- Circular and linear hand strikes and blocks;
- Kickboxing combinations;
- Pratical techniques of self-defence;
- Basic joint manipulation;
- Basic take-downs and throws;
- Basics of grounds fighting and choking;
- Weaponry: Sang Jang Bong (nunchaku), Jang Bong (long staff), Jang Gum (sword);
- Beginner to advanced Forms: weapon and open hand;
- Sparring;
- Falling techniques and acrobatic basic;
- Stretching and agility drills.

When the practitioner of Tae Soo Do® reaches the black belt, she/he acquires as a result the yellow belt in Hwa Rang Do® and he is allowed to be introduced to a study of the top techniques.

Start with Tae Soo Do®

IN-SOOL –  Healing skill aspects
Another very important aspect of Hwa Rang Do® is related to healing techniques. Every high-level practitioner of Hwa Rang Do® needs to learn the healing techniques such as martial ones. If you must be able to cause damage to the opponent, you must also know the techniques to heal.
The healing techniques of Hwa Rang Do® are divided into six categories:
- Ji Ap Sool – acupressure;
- Chim Gu Sool – acupuncture and Maxabustion;
- Yak Bang Bop – Herbal Medicine;
- Jup Gol Sool – Bone Setting;
- Hwal bop – Special Aids;
- Ki Ryuk Sool – Ki Power healing.

Through the study of the martial and healing techniques the practitioner of Hwa Rang Do® acquires a great knowledge of the weaknesses and strengths of the human body that will, among other things, allow him to understand the fragility of human life and develop character.